Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Michigan Driver license changes

If you are a new Michigan driver, a new law goes into effect today if who hold a Level 2 graduated license.

Under the graduated license requirement, new drivers under 18 years of age go through a three-step increase in driving privileges. A Level 3 full driver’s license is issued to a driver when they reach 17 years old and meet training, educational and other requirements.

Without going into all the details, typically, Level 2 drivers are 16 years old and can only drive under certain conditions including unsupervised driving for only a part of the day.

Effective today, the driving-while-supervised time for new Level 2 drivers has been moved up two hours from midnight to 10:00 p.m. This requirement to have a person with a full license in the car continues until 5 a.m. in the morning.

In plain talk, a Level 2 driver can’t drive a vehicle late at night to early in the morning, unless they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian or by a licensed adult driver over age 21, unless they are driving to or from work.

Additionally, a Level 2 driver can’t operate a motor vehicle carrying more than one passenger who is under 21 years of age unless the passengers are members of the driver’s immediate family or the travel is to or from school or a school-sanctioned event.

Also, on Monday, Secretary of State Ruth Johnson announced that Michigan driver’s licenses will soon have added security features involving the Mackinac Bridge picture, the great seal of Michigan, the driver’s photo and date of birth, and other imprints.

More information is available on the Secretary of State website.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home